The DataCAD Developer Network (DDN) is an online resource for information and support for DCAL® (DataCAD Applications Language) developers as well as anyone interested in creating fonts, toolbars, hatch patterns, or linetypes for use in DataCAD.
#82520 by lmiddendorf
Sat Oct 14, 2023 1:24 pm
Hello!!

I am new to DCAL, but not to programming.
My current font (as usual) is Arial.ttf.
I am using the "getcurrfont" in a macro and it is coming in as Arial.shx.
Let me tell you what I have tried:
--Tools-->Program Preferences-->Misc-->defaults: SHX set to "TXT" and True Type set to "Arial".
--I deleted all Arial.shx from the fonts folder.
--Using printstr to ensure "getcurrfont" is Arial.

Any help in this matter is greatly appreciated.
#82521 by dhs
Sat Oct 14, 2023 3:21 pm
Hello lmiddendorf.

I am not getting the same result as you when I test the getcurrfont procedure in a DCAL macro.
The DCAL manual states that the procedure returns a "string of up to eight characters that represents the font file without path or extension". The "eight characters" specified is obviously no longer applicable as I am seeing the full font name for longer fonts, but what I am seeing returned is in fact the font name without path or extension.
Not sure why I am getting a different result? I tested in DataCAD 22, and the source of my test macro is shown below. Can you supply any further information about your setup?

Code: Select allPROGRAM TestFont;

VAR
   str : str255;

BEGIN
   wrtlvl ('Font Test');
   lblsinit;
   lblson;
   getcurrfont (str);
   printstr (str, 1,1,1,0,false);
END TestFont.

Out of interest I also looked at the font name returned in a DCAL for Delphi macro. The getcurrfont procedure is not available there, so instead I looked at PGSavevar^.fontname which also returned the name of the font only (no path or extension).
#82522 by lmiddendorf
Sat Oct 14, 2023 3:58 pm
Thank you for the timely reply.