Page 1 of 1

Stack overflow

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 7:35 am
by rod_walker
I have previously used PFE32 as text editor when writing dcal programmes.
After a computer upgrade when trying to compile with dcc.exe I get a 'file handle invalid' messages.
DCC1 and DCC2 work fine.

If I use dos command window I get 'stack overflow'.

I have just downloaded Ultra edit. Again dcc1 & dcc2 work but not dcc.exe. Is there any solution, or is it a function of Windows XP?

Rod Walker

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 7:52 am
by Jsosnowski
Back in the last millenium, I remember having a similar problem. I overcame it by writing a batch file that ran DCC1 & DCC2 with separate line commands.

Stack overflow

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:39 am
by rod_walker
Thanks Joe,
I found a good editor (PSPAD from www.pspad.com/en.)
I still cant use dcc.exe; but PSpad wil handle dc1, dc2 and the linker with out- put to a capture window. It remembers the dos command so it is fairly quick to recompile and test.
I should not have discarded the old MSDos manuals; so will have to do a Google on batch file programing.
Thanks
Rod Walker

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:47 pm
by Jsosnowski
The following batch file will compile a macro called contxt under the directory DCAL and generate report files:

Code: Select alldel \dcal\contxt.dco
cd \dcal
dcc1 \dcal\\contextcontxt >\dcal\context\1ctx_a.rpt
dcc2 \dcal\\contextcontxt >\dcal\context\1ctx_b.rpt
cd \dcal\context


The following batch file will link a multiple unit macro:

Code: Select alldel \dcal\context\contxt.dcx
cd \dcal\context
dcl <\dcal\context\context.lnk >\dcal\context\1link.rpt
cd \dcal\context
copy \dcal\context\contxt.dcx c:\dcad5\dcx\context.dcx


The following tsext file contains the instructions for linking:
Context.lnk is a text file that contains the line "contxt+convar+ctmain;" for three DCO units

Stack overflow

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:26 am
by Vicente T. Fernandes
I received this message 'stack overflow' when I tried compile with DCC in Windows XP Home Edition. Support DCAL answer:

"
Hello Vicente:

Please refer to the updated tutorial on the DDN site. DCC.EXE is not compatible with the command prompt in Windows.

Instead…

Type,

DCC1 TESTE

Then type,

DCC2 TESTE

Finally type,

DCL TESTE;

You should be able to compile your test macro using these three separate steps.

DCAL Tutorial

https://www.datacad.com/ddn/tutorial/dcal_tut.htm

Thank You,

MFM