Ask questions about DataCAD 20, DataCAD LT 20, or previous versions here.
#78551 by George W. Burns CPBD
Tue Aug 11, 2020 3:25 pm
I am trying to draw a cross section of an airplane wing, which involves a bunch of coordinate points in a 2D plane, and a curved line passing over those points without any consistent radius. Is there any way to do that in DataCad? I have perused the curves menu to no avail. Bezier and B-spline neither work for this because you have no control over the curved line, just the points.
#78553 by George W. Burns CPBD
Tue Aug 11, 2020 3:57 pm
Okay, I'm so ignorant of a program I've been using for literally 20 years... I ventured into the 3D menus, clicked on 3D Entity, clicked on "contours", and then drew about 5 or 6 line segments , but all I got were straight lines. Is there a tutorial somewhere? I can see how this would absolutely work if I could decide how to input the co-ordinates (relative cartesian, etc) and then smooth the lines. This is for a real aerospace design project by the way... not some decoration for a house design.

ETA: no they were not straight... After doing it again, I see that it does curve the lines. I'm guessing the "stiffness" button controls the smoothness?
#78557 by Mark F. Madura
Tue Aug 11, 2020 4:19 pm
Creating contours is similar to creating Bezier or B-spline curves. You place a number of control points that define the curve. DataCAD accepts up to 256 control points. Unlike Bezier or B-spline curves, the contour curve that DataCAD generates passes through the points that you draw.

➔ To draw a contour:
1. Choose Contours from the 3D Entity menu. The Contours menu appears.
2. Choose the type of contour you want to draw: Natural, Cyclic, or Tangent.
Natural creates a contour that begins at the first control point you select and ends at the last point.
Cyclic creates a contour that connects the first and last control points with a smooth curve, making a closed shape.