Ask questions about DataCAD 20, DataCAD LT 20, or previous versions here.
#79019 by Nick Pyner
Sun Nov 08, 2020 2:00 am
I am having grief with a radius dimension. The circle was drawn with a 155 radius. ALT+X shows it at 155. There is no doubt about where the centre is, or the intent, but an aligned dimension shows 152mmImage. I don't understand this.
Attachments
dim trouble DCad.jpg
#79020 by joshhuggins
Sun Nov 08, 2020 4:10 pm
There is a lot of linework there so it's hard to tell exactly what is what , but couple of things come to mind to try.

- Have you tried using a Radius dimension?
- Could your cursor alignment not be set to parallel / perpendicular to the points used to snap the dimensions?
- Try turning on quadrant snapping, that should help align the snap points to your cursor's rotation.
#79023 by Nick Pyner
Mon Nov 09, 2020 10:09 am
Now that radius dimension really DOES put the cat amongst the bloody pigeons...

I have never used it before. I click on the circle and I am offered 154.99999'. Close enuff. I hit Enter, and I get R152 on the drawing.

I don't use curve centre or dim points either but, now that I turn them on, I see everything I would expect to see. The centre is at the top of the only vertical line and there is a line passing through the diameter. All the dots are kosher, and the radius identifies at 155.
#79032 by Mark Bell
Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:16 am
Also adjust your decimal places to say 2 to give a more accurate readout as there may be a fraction of a mil at each end being rounded up to give a longer overall length?
#79071 by Nick Pyner
Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:41 am
Mark Bell wrote:there may be a fraction of a mil at each end being rounded up to give a longer overall length?
The difference is 3mm.
#79072 by Nick Pyner
Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:17 am
Neil Blanchard wrote:That is odd - have you tried doing a horizontal and/or a vertical dim? Just curious if there is something happening with the Rotated dims.

OK....