Post off topic threads here.
#63883 by lmlowery
Tue Apr 29, 2014 10:24 am
So I decided to try NAS because I'm now working from home and an office. (Thank you economy for picking up a little bit!) But I have zero experience with network attached storage and I have no idea how to set it up. Ideally I think I would like to be able to work with drawing files right off of the server as if I was still working from only one computer. Is that a good idea or no? And what DCAD files/folders should be on the NAS? Drawings folder only? Or folders with reference files too? What about symbol folders?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Lori
#63889 by Neil Blanchard
Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:11 pm
Lori,

NAS units that can be purchased off the shelf work just like any peer-to-peer shared drive / folder in Windows. You typically set them up initially with a browser window from your computer; and typically you accept the default settings, including RAID 5. This is a parity setup that protects your data even if on of the hard drives in the NAS unit fail - you just replace it with a similar drive, and it rebuilds the RAID 5 array.

Another excellent option is to (later?) buy a second NAS unit, that backs up the main unit, and if the main one fails, you have a second copy of everything all set to go.

An alternate less expensive way to go is to buy (or build) two external hard drives and use those instead. These would attach with USB cables; rather than with a LAN cable. So they would be physically close to your computer, and you can set these up as alternating backups for your computer hard drive, or to store the primary files on one and back them up to the other. Backups should be done with a program (like Second Copy) so they are done regularly; and then you can (and probably should) take the backup unit out of the office each time you leave the office for the day.
#63891 by Aaron Ben-Avraham
Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:51 pm