Post off topic threads here.
#68248 by wonderer
Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:52 pm
Sorry if this is a total beginner ? but never got answered in class' I took, etc.

what do YOU do in preparing to draw in DataCad for demensions, room sizes, etc. Do you just do rough drawings on a pad? Noting dimensions, hights, etc
#68249 by MtnArch
Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:54 pm
One of the first things to do is invest time in setting up your default drawings, dimension settings, text settings, etc. This will also include setting up your default grid settings and plot settings, along with making sure you have all of the best productivity macros (free AND bought ... check out the Cheap Tricks Ware listings - worth every penny for the ones you'll use!). Peruse this forum for tips and tricks (save the original files just in case BEFORE you start toying with them!) - especially our Uber-Guru's website (Josh Huggins) and ANY post from James Horecka.

And one of the most useful tips is ... ask plenty of questions here! You will NOT find a nicer, more helpful bunch of users in ANY forum for ANY software than right here! And along the way you'll see that the chief programmer (and Easter Egg layer) Dave Giesselman and President of DC LLC, Mark Madura, pipe in quite regularly ... find THAT in most other mainstream software forums!
#68252 by Roger D
Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:14 am
I agree with Alan, get a good basic default drawing set up.
Go through each menu option thoroughly, setting anything you can.
I would use TextScale in both text and dimension menus, this way you set it once to the size you want it to plot no matter what scale you are at.
Also, you might put a few default items on a layer. Like text on a text or notes layer, then you can do an Identify Set All to quickly go to that layer and start entering text. Room Name layer would be another good one, since Room Names are generally a little larger than notes.