Post off topic threads here.
#75323 by Ted B
Sat Dec 08, 2018 11:12 pm
I've been overthinking changes to my office CADD standards for 2019, including shifting to a white screen-background. In looking a a number of YouTube vids (never a good idea) --including using Sketchup Pro and Layout for design and construction documentation-- I noticed more and more are using color printing for construction drawings.

I'm wondering what others' experiences with using color has been. For low-volume 11x17" print-sets it's not that much more to inkjet print in color versus b/w; or even muted grayscale backgrounds for graphic clarity.
#75325 by David Porter
Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:13 am
I have found that the level of contracting deficiencies does not change when going to color printing of construction documents. In other words, they can screw up a free lunch whether in color or B & W.
#75327 by Ted B
Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:33 am
Heh! Just as the "acceptable" quality of construction documentation has to Hell in a handbasket, the quality of trade skills and execution has dropped below nothing. It's near impossible these days to execute fine work when all you have access to are suburban-developer trade and vendor pools. "Hey, I can't get this from Home Depot! They don't stock it, and I need it for tomorrow, ...can I use this?" **grumble, mutter, grumble**

If it's an upscale job, they go across the highway to Lowe's.
#75328 by Robert Scott
Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:38 am
Why print at all?
Contractors all have laptops, computers and devices. Create PDF files, upload them to the cloud and let them print them if they wish.
I haven't printed a physical set in recent memory. I can measure off PDF files with Adobe Acrobat tools...a great use/justification for double monitors other than watching ESPN :)

My feeling on SU Layout is well documented.

Bob
#75330 by Ted B
Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:55 pm