Need advice on hardware? Ask questions and share your opinions here.
#78007 by Joe Krawiec
Wed May 06, 2020 8:24 am
Hi,
I'm hoping that someone can help/give direction about getting my trackball to be fully functional.

I use a Kensington Wired Expert (Trackball type) mouse (Model K64325 if that helps). There are four buttons that can be programmed - there are 6 possibilities (by using two of the buttons at one time). Three buttons are programmed to what you would expect - left, right, and middle click (no problems with these buttons). In addition, I have one programmed for 'double click' and one programmed for = (obviously to switch back and forth to walls). In other software the double click button works. There is no use for = in other software (although I can get the = to show in a word processor). I have been using this mouse for about 4 years in Dcad, and everything has worked seamlessly. I 'upgraded' to a Windows 10 computer in February. For a period of time, everything was fine. Over the last week or so, neither the double click or = buttons work in Dcad.

I spent about an hour with Kensington support on the phone, and they say that since the mouse works as expected in other programs, the problem is in Dcad. I spoke with Clay at Dcad, and he said that there is nothing in the software that would mess with the mouse - so it isn't Dcad. Here are my questions:

- Is anyone else using a Kensington mouse? Have you been able to custom program the buttons? Is everything working?
- If I'm stuck getting a different mouse, does anyone have any recommendations for trackballs? I looked at the Logitech Ergo - does anyone use this device?
- For those of you that have programmable buttons - what have custom commands have you programmed?

Thanks for any and all help!

Joe Krawiec
Toms River, NJ
#78009 by Neil Blanchard
Wed May 06, 2020 10:14 am